Week 3: Black and White Photos

23 07 2011

Welcome to week 3 everyone! I think this is the longest I’ve actually maintained any one of my blogs. I’m so proud of me! This week I wanted to focus on black and white photos. I also wanted to test some of my Photoshop skills, so some of the photos have some cool effects!

Why did I choose to do black and white? Well, although you can only find two colors in these types of photos (black and white, duh!), to me, they are much more visually appealing than colored photos. The reason why I find them much more appealing is because without the colors, your eyes get the chance to focus more on the details.

I was lucky this week in that it was Bike Week here in Springfield. There were all kinds of motorcycles with all kinds of accessories attached to them. Unfortunately, I only spent about 30 minutes photographing the motorcycles because it was close to 100 degrees outside. Some of the other pictures are from around the way…things that I thought were interesting to look at.

Anyhow, enough chitchat. Here are the photos for the week. I hope you enjoy!

Actions

Information

7 responses

23 07 2011
thepetalpusher

Great B&W photos. You have a good eye for composition/perspective.

3 08 2011
kmeng3

I definitely agree! You have a great eye. These pics are awesome!

23 07 2011
didex

Lovely B/W photos….

24 07 2011
Journey Photographic

These is a very nice collection of B/W images, especially as a beginner! I particularly like your use of perspective with your motorcycle shots – unusual and involving.

25 07 2011
idiotphotographer

Over all I really like your images, though perhaps a little more processing could give them a bit more cowbell (so to speak). There isn’t a ton of contrast in most of them. I love the motorcycle series overall, I agree with JP and petalpusher, you have a good eye for composition. Keep up the good work, you’re already better than I was when I started out 😉

26 07 2011
Toad Hollow Photography

I love the added drama of B&W photography, and this series is great! You’ve got great natural compositional skills, and it shows here.

7 08 2011
Clair Schwartzman

Great!! Nice and informative.

Leave a Reply

